Help Yourself


I’m quick. Quick to help. Quick to drop whatever I’m doing to lend a hand to a friend, a stranger, an enemy.

I’m slow. Slow to do what I need to do. Slow to realize that I can’t truly help others unless I’ve helped myself.

I’m learning. Learning that I can do both.

Right? I can be a helper and a self-helper simultaneously, can’t I?
Maybe I’m biting off more cake than I can chew.

I can’t help it.

Selflessness unattainable, but I was raised to think of others ahead of myself.
But at the expense of what I want and need? No, that’s not right either.
What is right? Where’s the line in the desert storm sand?

Against my nature, my natural bent, I’m asking that you help yourself…so I can help myself. And if you don’t know how to use the self-checkout – sorry, I can’t help you.

Leave a Reply

