Ready to RUN


Running. I loathed running. Now I love running. Not hardcore. Won’t be entering Grandma’s Marathon or anything. But everyday – since the weather warmed and the ice melted and the need for seven layers is no longer necessary – I have been running three or more times a week. Morning, afternoon, early evening – it’s number one on my daily “TO DO” list – like eating, brushing my teeth, and peeing.
Something I have to do. Something I need to do. Something I want to do.

Couch potato is not how I’d describe myself. Although I do like sitting on couches watching the NHL Playoffs. Don’t worry, I won’t go through my list of teams I want to win. Unless there’s a huge demand. I doubt it. Where was I?
Couch potato. Right. Nope – not me – I like being active. I just never enjoyed running. I forced myself to do it – to be healthy, to look cool (though I’m sure I run like a dilapidated duck), and to keep up my cardio. Now?! Oh, I can’t wait to put on my New Balance running shoes, throw on a baseball cap (yes, I know they don’t really protect you from the sun), strap on my Incase – plug into my iPod, and hit the road.

Thankfully my runs have not involved any run-ins with dogs. I think I want a dog someday, but random dogs running at you barking in neighbor’s yards is not pleasant. Believe me. I once suffered a traumatic biking experience that involved me being carted through neighbor’s yards by an older cousin when I was barely free of training wheels. I jumped off my bike, screamed and cried in the middle of the road, and thought the dog was going to eat me. It didn’t.

Running.
*Sigh*
Running makes me feel more connected with my neighborhood (“it’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood….”). I notice the houses for sale, the houses sold, the houses still for sale. I see kids outside playing, families out enjoying the balmy spring weather in MN, and I think that’s why I like running.
Physical exertion is great. The health benefits are wonderful. “Me time” is nice. Seeing the world around me jumping with activity is what makes it (the I’ve-gotta-slow-down-I’m-sucking-too-much-wind-my-leg-is-cramping moments)all worth while.

I’m ready to run.
Are you?

Leave a Reply

