Calling all heroes – super and otherwise


Check out this story on Mandi Schwartz a 22 year-old junior hockey player from Yale.

“My name is Mandi Schwartz, I’m 22 years old and a junior at Yale. I have leukemia and need a stem cell transplant to survive. A partially matched bone marrow donor has been identified. However, partially matched bone marrow often results in a life-threatening graft versus host (GVH) response if the donor cells recognize me as foreign. Cord blood offers the same stem cells but rarely cause a life-threatening GVH response. Join my team and help me find an absolutely safe donor for my transplant.” — from Mandi’s facebook page.

Also, ESPN featured Mandi in a recent interview.
http://espn.go.com/video/clip?id=5288507

Leave a Reply

