Nature Calls


I wasn’t going to post this week. Confession: I wrote ahead – planned for the busyness of this week. All the posts have been pre-written. This one isn’t scheduled to roll out tomorrow morning. This one needs to go out ASAP.

After sitting inside all day long today and yesterday, I am feeling the toll on my body, mind, and spirit. Tomorrow, the next day, and the next day after that will also be spent completely indoors. Sitting. Squirming in my seat. Attempting to get comfortable. Trying not to fall asleep. Hoping the information is seeping in deep into my brain.

All the sitting. All the listening. All the focused-attention. It’s getting to me. I’m antsy. I need to move it or lose it.

Like I said, I sat all day today. For dinner, I met a friend at Punch on Grand Avenue. Packed. The wait was longer than normal. The food was as excellent as ever. And the atmosphere inside the restaurant was fun and loud. But it felt stuffy. I needed air. We chose an outdoor table. And I needed that. I needed to be outside. Amidst the Grand Ave shoppers, runners, bikers, and walkers. Taking in the sights and smells of the city.

The outdoor dining experience continued when my friend suggested dessert. Izzy’s Ice Cream off Snelling and Marshall. I’d never been before. I’d actually eaten the ice cream though (thanks to the pints of ice cream available for purchase). Again, the inside of the shop was fun, exciting, and crowded. Outdoors we headed. Plastic chairs facing the street, other ice cream lovers surrounding us. A great night. A night spent outdoors.

It satisfied my need for my friend’s company, pizza, and ice cream. Pretty much my idea of an amazing night.

Yet, my body, mind, and spirit are in need of more. They are crying out for help. They are hearing the call of nature. The call to come out and play. To throw on play clothes. To dig in the dirt. To run through the grass. To walk through the woods. To sit on a quiet lake.

This summer has been so different from last. I’ve only been fishing once this year. Last year: daily. I’ve only been swimming once this year. Last year: three times/week. I’ve only been slalom skiing once this year. Last year: oh, I didn’t go last year, but that was because I was too busy doing other things in nature. I’ve only been outside for a total of two hours this week (not counting walking to and from my car…). Last year: all day long outside.

Needless to say, I am in need of outdoor play time. Days on end to romp and run. Sun. Rain. I don’t care. I just need it. For my body, mind, and spirit.

Or else. I could end up with Nature Deficit Disorder. Something I fought against in college. A topic I used for my research paper senior year.

the words of Richard Louv in his book Last Child in the Woods: Saving Our Children From Nature Deficit Disorder “this generation of children is in danger of being completely detached from nature and missing the value of experiences found in being outdoors” (Nelson 40).

I don’t want that to be me. I don’t want to have a Nature Deficit Disorder. I don’t want to be detached. It sounds worse than the plague. I’m lacking outdoor experiences this week. I’m suffocating indoors.

I long for the experiences, the value of the outdoor world. Next week, though equally busy, I know I can’t ignore Nature’s Calls any longer.

Leave a Reply

