Mold Problem


What happens when you try, with all your heart, to go after something? To become something or someone. You do it because you want it. You do it because other people want it for you.

That begs the question, do you actually do it because you want it, or because you know that other people want it on your behalf? Can you have one without the other?

What happens when you try, with all your heart, to go after nothing? To let things come as they may. You wait because you know it’s out there. You wait because people tell you it will happen.

That raises the issue of laziness versus easy-going. Do you wait because it’s easy? Do you wait because it’s exhausting doing all the chasing? Do you do it because you know that good things come to those who wait?

When these things happen, do you choose them or do they choose you? Water does not choose the ice cube tray it is poured into. Jell-o does not select its design. A mouth guard mold conforms to the mouth it is placed inside. Rolled out dough does not have the ability to become a star – it is chosen by the baker how it will stand out on the cookie plate.

Same with people. Same with me.

I am sometimes water. I am sometimes Jell-o. I am sometimes a mouth guard. I am sometimes rolled out cookie dough.

Whenever I am one of those, I have choices, whether I realize it or not to select my shape, my design. And yet, it is very much left to the hands of the One who designs all the molds and rolls out all the dough.

Leave a Reply

