Observing interactions


I mini-vanned last week. Dropped a child off at the activity of the day. Siblings tagged along, contentedly sitting in their car seats as the van rolled into the parking lot. Overall, an uneventful drive.

I unloaded my little entourage.

An early arrival found us waiting for the child’s activity to commence. My young friend headed over to start practicing. The rest of us (siblings and I) watched and cheered.

Another child arrived. The mother hurriedly kissing the child goodbye before darting off. No doubt rushing to drop more kids off at activities. Shyly the child approached where I was standing and set up her gear. Struggling a bit with her bag, I offered to help. She accepted. And that was it. She was my instant friend.

My little buddies were clamoring for my attention as well, all the while watching their older sibling’s big kid actions. The little girl, her sports gear fully set up, hung close by my side. Not too close. But just close enough to be part of my group of young ones.

She chatted. She asked questions. I asked her questions. We shared smiles.

And then the child who was participating in the soon-to-start activities ran over to see what we were up to. And that’s when my young charge struck up a simple conversation with the young girl, older than my buddy, and they began comparing equipment.

Eagerly they talked. Easily they chatted.

They were considerate. They were kind. They were child-like in behavior and conversation.

I stood back. Amazed at the simplicity. Admiring the beauty of friendships. The summer time friendships that will shape their childhood, their lives, and form the basis of their Minnesota summer memories.

The moment ended. The activity began.

I hauled my minus-one entourage back to the mini van.

We loaded up. We buckled up. We rolled out.

Simple. It was a simple time. A simple drop off. A simple conversation.

Simply amazing.

____________________________________________________________

I ask. You answer.

  1. What memories of summer time friendships do you have?
  2. Are some of the friends you met in your childhood summers still your friends to this day?
  3. Why are friendships so carefree and easy as children
Leave a Reply

