quarter life crisis


John Mayer once wrote, “It might be a quarter life crisis or just the stirring in my soul.”

I’ve been thinking about that song. That line.

Probably because I’ve been thinking about my life, my age.Where I’ve come from and where I’m going.

And I’ve been wondering about many things. Wondering why this and why that. Why here and why now. Why not and why me.

I’m not at the end of my life. I’m not at the beginning. I’m not at the middle. I’m before, after, and not-close-to those stages.

Full-on crisis mode? Most likely not. But I feel it. I get it. I understand that song. The reason behind it. The words in it. It’s thematic right now. Sound trackish. It means more than it did when the CD was first released, when I was in high school, blissfully unaware of what lay ahead.

Georgia aside, that song gets at the essence of life at my stage of the game. The wondering. The questioning. The hoping.

I question and doubt. I trust and I fear. I hope and I worry.

It’s a vicious cycle.

I don’t know the outcome. The future. What will or will not come my way. That’s part of the beauty of it – the unknown – the surprises that bring smiles and frowns. But that’s sometimes the most difficult part. Not knowing if I’m “living it right” right now. Am I doing what I need to be doing now in order for my future to turn out right?

I can only pray-try my way through this era in my life. It’s one I hope will pass quickly. Braces and big glasses seem so much more simple of a crisis. Manageable.

Just like those braces and large-framed spectacles, the struggles I face today will seem like bunny hills when I am up against my next crisis.

For now though, I will ask why questions. I will relate to the words of John Mayer and wonder why. And I will write it, the questions and the place I’m in, off as my quarter life crisis.

The stirring in my soul, that part I won’t write off. That part I want to carry with me into the next crisis. For it is the stirring in my soul that is important to listen to. To understand.

I am in a quarter life crisis. I have a stirring in my soul. They are not related or interchangeable. The first cannot exist without the latter. They are overlapping their stays in my life right now.

It won’t last forever. I won’t always be this age. This crisis is not the first or the last. It is not the best or the worst.

It’s just what it is. My quarter life crisis.

__________________________________________________________

I ask. You answer.

  1. Have you had your quarter life crisis yet?
  2. When did you realize you were experiencing it?
  3. If you haven’t yet had it, nothing any one can say now will prepare you for it. Does that make sense?
  4. Which one is worse a quarter life or mid-life crisis?
  5. Which one has the greatest impact on people?
Leave a Reply

