wiped out


An hour from now and it will be August (writing this on July 31…in case you need me to spell it out for ya). And I’m wiped out. The end of July was a sprint to the finish. A race against time. I made it. I survived. I lived to tell.

August’s beginning won’t be any slower. I’m still recovering from July.

August’s middle won’t be any slower. I’ll still be recovering from the first part.

August’s end most likely won’t be any slower. I’ll still be recovering from August itself.

I’m not complaining. Not exactly. It’s a good complaint. It means I’ve been busy, of course. But it also means that I’ve been involved. I’ve been active.

I’m signing off soon. Before August officially rolls in. The rest I accomplish tonight won’t be enough. But it will have to do. The week ahead will be fun and busy. Exhausting. Refreshing. The weekend will be busy and fun. There won’t be time to rest. There won’t be time to relax. There will be time for that later.

I’ll be wiped out every day this week. I’ll be wiped out next weekend. I’ll attempt to rest up at that point. After the smoke has cleared and the dust settled. But life will be there, waiting for me to keep going. Never letting up on the gas. And I’ll be wiped out come the end of August. The end of summer. And that’s when I’ll rest. That’s when I’ll reflect.

I have a month left. The reasons for exhaustion in August will be different from July. Feeling wiped out will be the same.

I’m not complaining. I’m just wiped out.

____________________________________________________________

I ask. You answer.

  1. When did you last feel wiped out?
  2. How do you find time to rest?
  3. Why do we need to rest?
  4. Are you the type of person that can keep going without rest? Or do you need frequent rests in order to keep going?
Leave a Reply

