F-A-M-O-U-S People


Thursday, as I’ve made perfectly clear, is a day I will leave this state. My loverly (yes, I meant to write loverly – not lovely) Minnesota. My favorite place. I’ll soar to a different place. Alone. A point I’ve also made very clear.

Those two facts solidified in your brain, there is another aspect of this trip that I have speculated about. It has to do with sightings. Celebrity sightings.

People Magazine is one I rarely, actually never, read. I don’t watch Entertainment Tonight. I don’t care.

But still. Even I can appreciate that traveling always brings one closer to potentially sighting celebrities. Actors. Actresses. Politicians. News personnel. Athletes. Famous people flying around the world for movies, tours, etc.  As much as I don’t follow popular culture to the extent of others, I still find it exciting when I spot a famous individual or hear cool stories of friends and family meeting celebrities at the baggage claim.

The first airport I arrive in, my layover, is in a town that claims to love hockey. This being the “off” season, it’s highly unlikely I’ll see entire teams running through the terminals or sitting one seat over from mine. Still. I could potentially see someone…or two…

It’s not as ridiculous as it sounds. Last week, some of the people I was with saw a famous individual just walking around. Granted, we were in a place where many “greats” hang out. This guy was just minding his own business. He was in the spotlight not long ago – the NHL spotlight that is. I saw a few myself. Not people the world may know, but our own MN hockey celebrities and stars. Nobody worth going crazy over. Nobody worth snapping pictures with (although they may be worthy of pics in a few years…). Just average Minnesota stars.

But this trip may turn up something, someone different. Who knows. I may see someone really famous. I may sit next to someone with a record deal. Someone with a blockbuster hit. Someone with a multi-million dollar hockey contract and a Stanley Cup Ring.

Then again. I may not. I may just see regular Joe’s and regular Jane’s.

Either way. I’ll enjoy my time people watching. My opportunity to observe and imagine people’s stories – what they like to do, where they shop, who they like to surround themselves with. Maybe I’ll even talk to some of the people I spot. Learn about new cultures – from across the seas to across the border – state and country.

That’s the only People Magazine I need. The real life sightings of real people – famous or not.

____________________________________________________________

I ask. You answer.

  1. Have you ever seen a famous person while traveling?
  2. What was it like?
  3. Do you think we are too obsessed with celebrity sightings?
  4. Why do we care? Why do we pretend we don’t care and then when faced with the situation – we care?
  5. Who would you like to “spot”?
  6. Would you ask a celebrity for their autograph if you saw them at the airport Starbucks? Why or why not?
  7. Who do you consider “famous” people? Athletes? TV personnel? Musicians? Actors?
One thought on “F-A-M-O-U-S People

  1. Does Chris Carter count as being famous…if so..it was amaaaaazing…hahaha
    I dont know any of the other questions..but I would LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE (times a million) to see see the Twins..preferably surrounding me in my seat on an airplane..:)

    Have a GREAAAT trip!

Leave a Reply

