What I learned my first day of school


This is the day. That He made.

This is the day. Five years ago. I was younger. And this thing happened that I wasn’t expecting.

I wrote about it. A reflection paper for a college course. Only my professor saw it. Funny, because now she’s met him. Up there. You know. Past the clouds and Milky Way. Where it’s different than down here.

So, today, I will share some of my thoughts from that day. The thoughts I can’t replicate. From that first day of school. Thoughts from five years ago. Today.

The first day of school was a whirlwind of activity. I enjoyed connecting with old friends, meeting new people, and, of course, filling my folders with handouts and syllabuses.  My day was perfect, though a little overwhelming. Around ten p.m. that night, I received word that my grandpa had just passed away.  This news threw me a curve ball, and I wasn’t even up to bat yet.  My friends at school surrounded me with love and prayers, and I stood in wonder at how blessed I was.

What would I have done without them? They were the first people I ran to that first day of school.

Fishing at his cabin was a pastime my grandpa enjoyed. It didn’t matter if he awoke to sunshine and calm waters, or thunderstorms and whitecaps, he would recite Psalms 118:24, “This is the day the LORD has made, we will rejoice and be glad in it.”

I learned that. From my grandpa. A man of integrity. A man I wish I had known better. A man I learned more about at his funeral than at family Thanksgiving dinners. It’s kind of sad. When I think of it that way. But I can’t be sad. Because he taught me about loyalty, integrity, family, and faith. And he didn’t have to say anything. He lived it.

That’s what I learned my first day of school.

____________________________________________________

I ask. You answer.

  1. What life lessons have you learned on your first day of school?
  2. Who has touched your life and taught you more in their passing than in their existence?
Leave a Reply

