Time-out


Been up to no good.

But I’ve been diligent with my self-punishment.

Blog. Facebook. Internet. Computer. Time-outs from all forms of PC-Mac-obsessed-media.

August has been full of travels and tales. Laptops are all the latest rage, so I could easily have toted mine around airports and SUVs. Instead I opted to leave it home. On my desk. Lonely. Sitting untouched next to piles of bills and paperwork.

I have been in and out all month. Here and there.

And every time I have left the comfort of my home, the city limits, and state lines, I leave it here. In Minnesota. In my town. In my house. In my room.

It’s not that it’s been a “banned” item. I just made decisions. Decisions in which I decided not to take my computer on the journeys I journeyed. Because the journey was the purpose. The computer would have been a distraction. I didn’t want distractions. I get enough of those at home – here – in my room – in my house – in my town – in my state.

I wanted to get away. From all of it. From the piles on my desk. From the in-box with e-mails. From the Quicken Books requiring balancing and backing-up. From the status updates and notifications. From the blog traffic and thoughtful comments.

I love all those things. I need all of those things.

They are always here when I return. But the experiences out there – they are never there unless I experience them. Free of wireless networks and e-mails, facebook and blogging.

I’ve been able to squeeze in time before my out-of-office days/weeks to write ahead. To schedule posts to post while I’m away from my desk, my home, my town, my state.

I have enjoyed my time-outs. The punishment is no longer as punishing. The time-out chair is not as uncomfortable as it looks. I may have to make it a permanent fixture in my life. A chair I pull up when life gets too busy, when I forget to be me. When I forget to live, learn, and love.

Time-out. Worth the time.

_____________________________________________________

I ask. You answer.

  1. Do you give yourself “time-outs” from media and electronic devices? How do you feel? Before? During? After?
  2. When do you say enough is enough and “ban” internet, e-mail, texting, etc. for yourself?
  3. How can we balance the internet world with the real world that we live in? The world in which we interact face-to-face with friends and family?
Leave a Reply

