Go Fish


I wrote about my Photo I.D. back in July. I didn’t really give you much to go on. I didn’t explain that the event I was working revolved around fishing. Not just any kind of fishing. The best kind of fishing there is. Of course it is the best because it is here, in Minnesota, on one of our perfect, pristine lakes. That’s rather obvious. But what is not so obvious, what I did not make known, is the other reason why it is the best kind of fishing.

Poorly, not doing it any justice, I will attempt to explain in my clumsy-I’ve-barely-been-home-all-month-and-I-get-really-emotional-talking-about-it mind why it is the best fishing in the entire state and why I went back and plan on going back year after year.

I’d never heard of the event until last year. I didn’t know it existed. I didn’t know how well-attended and popular it was, here in Minnesota, and specifically at the site I was at. Nationally, it is something people participate in during the fishing months in their states. Statewide, it has chapters in towns I have visited and love. Last year, I saw it for the first time. I experienced it personally. I fell head-over-heels-in-love with it.

It’s called Fishing Has No Boundaries. And it’s the best fishing event in the entire state. Biased, yes, but it’s true.

Really.

Truly.

True.

The day is full of fishing, fun, and food. The participants are indescribably wonderful. Genuine and carefree, they remind me why life is special. Laughter and love pours out of each and every one of them. Their smiles melt my heart like no movie-star-singer-athlete ever could. Nothing holds a candle to the flames they carry.

They are my heroes.

Never mind that I have to arrive a day early to set up. Never mind that I have to break my back moving impossibly heavy picnic tables. Never mind that I have to prep fishing poles, tackle boxes, and first aid kits. Never mind that I have to sort life jackets. Never mind that I have to dock and drive boats on a busy lake with too many boats to count.

Never mind that I have to wake up at 5 a.m. to help with the event. Never mind that the morning is always sweatshirt worthy. Never mind that I’ll reek of leeches, minnows, worms, and fish at the end of the night. Never mind that I have to duck out of the way of fishing poles and fish hooks. Never mind that I have to untangle fishing lines all day long. Never mind that I have to mend fishing lines and tie fish knots. Never mind that I have to pull anchor multiple times in order to find more fish. Never mind that I have to act like a goof-ball for entertainment purposes.

Never mind. Because it’s worth it. Every last fish hook, leech, and perch.

The twinkle in their eyes and the smiles on their faces. You can’t manufacture that. No amount of acting will ever get you to that point of pure, unadulterated joy.

No fishing hole or tournament will ever top this event. Sure, fishing with friends and family is always welcome. Always special. But this event, this whole Fishing Has No Boundaries. It wins. Hands down. Not just because fishing celebrities and well-respected fishing guides volunteer their time and talents.

They are not the real celebrities. They are not the main draw.

For that, you’ll have to Go Fish.

_____________________________________________________

I (usually) ask. You (sometimes) answer.

Instead of asking you questions, I’m opening this up. Tell me your fish tales. Your favorite moments on the lake with a rod in your hand. Funny. Sad. Sentimental. Share it. Because Fishing really does have No Boundaries.

2 thoughts on “Go Fish

  1. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    This is how happy it makes me

  2. Pingback: One year. | Megan Nyberg's Meditations

Leave a Reply

