The Path I took. The Path I’m on.


Another turning point;
a fork stuck in the road.
Time grabs you by the wrist;

directs you where to go.
So make the best of this test

and don’t ask why.
It’s not a question

but a lesson learned in time.

“Time of Your Life” – Green Day

Three years ago, I made a decision. It changed the course of my life. The degree of difficulty in my decision was high. Reputation was possibly on the line. Opinions flew through the air.

I made an appointment. I sat in an office with someone I respected. I explained my well-researched reasoning. I looked to the person for guidance. In hindsight, I think I wanted, no, I needed, approval.

And I got it. A new path.

Actually. It was the path I was always meant to take. The road I was supposed to travel. It was set before me. But it was up to me to take it.

Like I said, it was not easy. No one guaranteed it would be. Maps showed the parts in the road that were impassable; the detours and the pending construction zones. There were questions. I cut myself off from a path I had grown to know very well. I veered to the left and everyone else kept going right. So I knew, right away, I knew, it was not easy. It never would be. But I kept going. Despite some doubts.

And so here I am. Still walking this path. Learning about the dips and twists. Wondering where it is taking me. Considering whether or not there are more forks in the road – more decisions to decide. And it is not easy. None of the mile markers have been easy to reach. But I don’t look back. I don’t have regrets.

I keep walking. I keep going.

And all I really know, all that’s certain, is that this path I’m taking is it. It’s my life. And it requires that I stay focused. That I follow the compass. That I stop for directions on a regular basis and look to the other people who happen to be on the same path as me. That I learn from the people on the side of the road, stranded with flat tires and broken down modes of transportation. That’s how I’ll learn. That’s how I’ll survive. That’s how I’ll reach my final destination.

Three years ago around this same time, I sat in that office. I laid out my research and my reasoning. I listened to feedback and approval. I signed my name on a piece of paper. I changed the course of my life.

In time, this will all be revealed. Because this is the path I took. This is the path I’m on.

______________________________________________________

I ask. You answer.

  1. What path are you on?
  2. What paths have you taken?
Leave a Reply

