The movie I was once obsessed with


Forgive me. I had no idea what I wanted to title this post. I just knew some of the things I had to jot down. I had an uneventful Tuesday evening. The iron was my T.V. date. Clothes I almost forgot I owned are now fresh pressed and ready to wear. After clicking through some channels, hitting the “Guide” button numerous times, I settled on “The Princess Diaries.” A classic in my book.

I actually did read the book, but it wasn’t nearly as charming as the Disney film that rolled out when I was in ninth/tenth grade. I believe a friend had a birthday party and all six, seven, eight of us hit up the local cinema for the much-anticipated summer flick.

Popcorn purchased and settled in our seats, we took in the magic that only Disney can produce.

We all scrunched our faces at the nerdiness of Mia, a girl we could easily relate to in the clumsy department. We all swooned over the cute boys in the movie, which watching it tonight, I couldn’t remember why we thought they were cute. We all roared with laughter at the comedy clips and well-placed sarcastic phrases, something I can still greatly appreciate. We all walked away pretending we were princesses, something we had certainly outgrown when we put away our Pretty, Pretty Princess games.

Memories flickered at me from the T.V. as I ironed my favorite shirts and khakis.

I laughed numerous times at the same lines I laughed at back in high school. And though it’s been years since I was in that movie theater, I heard it. All the laughs from my very best buds. The belly laughs from friends I haven’t laughed with in way too long. Then I remembered something else. Something I haven’t remembered for a long time. I guess it might have something to do with the fact that my copy of Princess Diaries is on VHS. Cutting technology. But that’s just it. The reason I had forgotten about my VHS copy of the film. Because I was obsessed with the movie. Obsessed. Did I mention I was obsessed?

To my delight, I had opened my very own copy of Princess Diaries on Christmas morning. And I had to watch it. Again. And again.

Ironing a new basic tee for layering, a memory hit me. A memory about that Christmas and that movie.

Fuzzy on the details, but I am certain my family spent Christmas Eve/Day in my parents’ hometown. Christmas Day we went to my aunt and uncle’s house. Opened gifts. Played board games. Munched on cookies. Shared stories. Somehow, ok, I know how, I probably made a big deal about wanting to watch my new movie, we ended up watching Princess Diaries. All of us. My parents. My sister. My grandma. My aunt. My uncle. My cousin. Realizing, while I removed my wrinkles, that it was definitely not the first movie choice for everyone else, I wondered why they let me get away with it. But it was sure nice of all of them. Especially Cousin “A.” I get why my female cousins let me watch chick flicks, talk about boys, and took me shopping. But Cousin “A” is a boy. And he endured my favorite Disney princess movie. He laughed along with it. He didn’t complain.

Then the memory continued. The next day we went to my aunt’s home for the holidays. Opened gifts. Played board games. Munched on cookies. Shared stories. Somehow, ok, I know how, I probably made a big deal about wanting to watch my new movie, again, and we ended up watching Princess Diaries. We meaning my sister and me. And my cousin. Cousin “B.” He said he’d watch it with us, “Mandy Moore is pretty hot.” He laughed along with it. He didn’t complain. So. There I sat. In another aunt’s basement watching my new favorite movie with another cousin. Another boy.

I put the iron down, gently so as not to burn myself, and I was thankful. For a cheesy Disney chick flick. Because for the running time of the film, it brought me closer to friends and family. And it brought me closer to my memories with friends and family.Pretty good reason to be obsessed with it.

_____________________________________________________

I ask. You answer.

  1. What movie were you obsessed with in high school?
  2. What movie have people endured just to make you happy?
One thought on “The movie I was once obsessed with

  1. UM! LOVE this movie..as for highschool I do not remember what movie it was…BUT I just bought Beauty and the Beast..one of my favorites as a child..but have yet found time to watch it 🙂

Leave a Reply

