Hallmark traditions [Post contains can’t-miss YouTube clips!]


I’m a fan of Hallmark. I’m a Silver Crown card holder. I frequently buy and send Hallmark cards.

And every year for Christmas I receive an ornament. Someone, always a loved one, buys me a Hallmark exclusive Crayola ornament. Every year it is a different character, a new theme. Thus, I have a Hallmark ornament for every year of my life. That’s a lot of Crayola-themed ornaments. And I love it.

Here’s a peek at my favorite Crayola’s.

Along with these adorable Crayola creations hanging on my non-scented tree, another Hallmark tradition every Christmas is the annual Hallmark Hall of Fame feature presentation. The movies are aired on ABC or NBC or CBS? I can’t remember. All I know is that they’re on. And they always make me think – about my life, family, friends, future, and past. And they always make me cry. And no matter how hard I try to explain the movies, it can’t be done. They have to be viewed first hand. I can’t begin to write reviews – to locate the exact words and emotions they elicit – because the movies are that good (sometimes in a corny sort of way).

But I think what I look forward to more than the movies, though always entertaining and heart-warming, are the commercials. The Hallmark-only commercials. The same ones I’ve seen for years. The same ones that make me cry every time I see them. And like the movies, they can’t be explained. They can’t be re-told or described. They’re simply two minute glimpses into the human soul.

Here’s a peek at some of my favorite Hallmark commercials…I couldn’t locate my other favorites (the first video is my absolute favorite though!).

This one isn’t exactly related to Christmas, but it makes me cry!

These Crayola ornaments, feature presentations, and commercials are my Christmas traditions. My Hallmark Christmas traditions.

_________________________________________________________

I ask. You answer.

  1. What’s your favorite ornament?
  2. Do you have a “collection”?
  3. Are you a fan of Hallmark movies and commercials? What’s your favorite movie? Favorite commercial?


Leave a Reply

