French Fry Fridays: Bread


Photo from atlanticbakingco.com

Bread, like french fries, is a feel-good food.

I can eat bread with or without butter. I like sweet breads. Swirly-twirly cinnamon breads. Salty breads. Do pretzels count? Grainy breads. Oat breads.

All bread.

I’m not picky. But I will pick apart a piece of warm, fluffy bread and savor every bite.

Unless you have a gluten issue or you’re one of those crazy carb counters, you eat bread. And if you’re like me, you seek places out where you can eat bread.

Bread baskets. Bread bowls. Dinner rolls. Cinnamon rolls. Monkey bread. Banana bread. Sourdough bread. Bagels. Hamburger buns. Texas Toast. Baguette bread.

Bread. Bread. Bread.

I have fond memories with bread. Weird, I know. But so true.

I remember the dinner rolls my grandma purchased from her local bakery every Thanksgiving and Christmas. Flour covered the tops of the rolls and if you breathed in or blew out at just the right time you’d either get a nose full of flower or send it flying through the kitchen.

When I was in college, my RA and her roommate lived next door to me. And one day, while studying all studiously at my desk, I heard yelling from the other room. I ran next door to see what was going on and found my RA and her roommate (a friend of mine) goofing off. Groceries were used as weapons in their pseudo-war and a loaf of bread was thrown by my RA at her roommate. And it was hilarious.

Then another time in college, my friend and I flew out to NYC for our spring break (ya know, since it’s so nice and warm there in March) and went out to dinner with my cousin. There we were at this nice Italian restaurant on the Upper West Side (was it 90 something and Amsterdam or 90 something and Columbus? I can’t recall), and my friend devoured the entire bread basket. I had one piece. My cousin had one piece. And my friend had the rest.

Bread. It’s that good, people.

Quit counting your carbs and eat it. After all, it’s Friday.

Have a French Fry Friday kind of day!

Here’s a list of some of my favorite bakeries for bread and other bread-like treats and eats:

  • The Bikery – Stillwater, MN
  • Panera Bread – anywhere in the Twin Cities. Panera is operated in 40 US states. It can be found in Ontario, Canada (as of September 2010) and has two other alias’ – Saint Louis Bread Co. and Paradise Bakery and Cafe.
  • Bread and Chocolate – St. Paul, MN (Grand Avenue)
  • Wuollet Bakery – a few locations in the Twin Cities
  • Breadsmith – locations in Edina, Minnetonka, and St. Paul (Grand Avenue). The dinner rolls are DELISH! And the chocolate chip banana bread is heavenly!
  • Keys Cafe and Bakery – numerous Twin City locations.
  • Roseville Bakery – Larpenteur Ave. Roseville, MN
  • Bruegger’s Bagels – numerous Twin City locations. Bruegger’s can be found across the US and in parts of Ontario, Canada.
  • Rachel’s Bakery – Nisswa, MN
  • Hans’ Bakery – Anoka, MN
  • yum! Kitchen and Bakery – St. Louis Park, MN
  • Taste of Scandinavia – three Twin City locations
  • Costco – offers tasty bakery-fresh items. Try the muffins, they are delicious! Located across the US, Canada, the UK, and parts of Asia.

______________________________________________________________________

I ask. You answer.

  1. What’s your favorite kind of bread?
  2. Who else wants Panera?!?!
2 thoughts on “French Fry Fridays: Bread

Leave a Reply

