what hurts the most…


tradebit.com

This is not an invitation to an anti-bullying seminar. It is not an online article on “how to talk to your child.”

It’s just me. Wondering about feelings. The ones that hurt.

Sometimes I think I’m too old for hurt feelings. Sometimes I scold myself for having hurt feelings. Sometimes I tell myself I’m over-analyzing the situation.

But sometimes my feelings just hurt.

Name-calling, hair-pulling, and back-stabbing are instances where one would be left feeling hurt. And rightfully so.

But I’m not talking about the big things. The explicit hurts.

Instead, I’m referring to the little things. The hurts that you least expect. That you think you can handle. The feelings you didn’t know you felt.

Usually when someone punches you or calls you dirty names, they are, hopefully, somewhat aware of their wrong actions.

But what about when someone hurts you and they most likely have no idea. When it’s not really a big deal, not a life or death situation, not going to jeopardize national security. Not really something you can mention or try to “talk it out.” It’s just something that happened. Something they said. Or didn’t say. Something they did. Or didn’t do.

But still. There you are. Hurt.

Hurt more than you ever thought you’d be.

I think that’s what hurts the most.

____________________________________________________________

I ask. You answer.

  1. Ever had hurt feelings from something that caught you off guard? Something you never thought would hurt your feelings?
  2. How do you cope with hurt feelings?
  3. How do you cope with hurt feelings when it’s not a BIG hurt? Just something that hurt at the time, or stung a tiny bit.
2 thoughts on “what hurts the most…

  1. YES! I agree with you that those are the worst kinds..as far as coping I just try and forget about it even though it is always stuck in the back of my mind.

Leave a Reply

