Let’s hear it for the boy…er…boys…


All right. I apologize. I had good intentions of blogging a lot last week. But I didn’t. So, the next few posts are “catch up” posts…old news, but news nonetheless. Speaking of news, I have a pile of last week’s sports’ sections that I need to flip through (I’m a newspaper junkie!).

The Gophers. Oh, where do I start? This post could easily become a bashing session…Believe me, I could go on and on about their season (or past few seasons). But deep, deep down…I love ’em. Although cynicism got the best of me this this morning when I opened the paper and saw an interview with Gopher AD Joel Maturi. Questions were raised about Donny and the Gophs – questions I ask on a daily basis. Clearly Gopher athletics as a whole are struggling, so I wonder if we should be worrying about the coaches losing jobs/not re-signing contracts and consider maybe the dismissal of Maturi? Just a thought (read the article’s comments and you will see that I am not alone).

Anyway, yes, it’s true, the Gopher men’s hockey team did not play well this season. They showed up once in a blue moon – won a few games here and there (can we blame that all on injuries and players leaving early? I don’t think so). But they certainly weren’t a force to be reckoned with. I’ve discussed this before in previous posts  (Minnesota vs. Minnesota). And I’ve discussed this before with family, friends, and anybody else who cares to listen…

I will say this about two Gopher players, who left much to be desired on the ice, they sure can sing. No offense, but maybe they should have practiced their game more than their guitar?? Take a look/listen though because they are pretty decent musicians. Unfortunately this intermission clip was the best part of the Gophers series against Alaska Anchorage.

Moving on to the sad news:

Last week – March 15 – I got a text at 9 am from a friend – the SIOUX fan – with ears on the ground everywhere, she informed me that my fave blue line Gopher was going to sign on the dotted line. Yep. Ness is heading East to join former Gopher Kyle Okposo in the Big Apple (well, first he’ll do his time in the AHL). Although I could devote an entire post to the issues I have surrounding the Islanders mishandling of Okposo leaving-the-Gophers-going-to-the-Islanders situation, I won’t. Because Ness is a stand-up kid who, though small, is one of the smartest Defensemen the Gophers have seen in a long time (since Keith Ballard??? Alex Goligoski??? Mike Vanelli???). And I have nothing bad to say about him.

Except – is this just another example of what came first – the chicken or the egg? Guys leaving D1 teams early because their college teams aren’t winning the Broadmoor and National Championship OR teams not winning the Broadmoor and National Championship because guys leave their D1 teams early? Would Stu Bickel, Jordan Schroeder, and Nick Leddy have been difference makers on this team, this season, had they stayed with the Gophers?

Who knows. All I know is that it’s getting harder and harder not to let the Dark Side pull me in and pick another WCHA team to call my own…

…eeny, meeny, miny, moe…

…UNO…

…UMD…

…CC…

…DU…

…UND…????

…I’ll give it a few more seasons…

 

Leave a Reply

