French Fry Friday: AOL Instant Message


Ding. Ding. Ding. Ding.

Type. Type. Type. Type. Type.

The cutting edge technology of AOL Instant Message.

We thought we were so cool. Because, let’s face it, we were.

If only I had saved the AIM conversations I clicked away on my family’s dinosaur desktop.

The laughs and tears. The drama. The late-nights solving life’s biggest issues.

Instant Message was what we did. It was what we knew.

I have posted in the past about how special it was for me to be able to communicate with family. Cousin B and I, four years apart, spent hours talking during my high school days – his college days. It’s incredible how much you don’t know about someone until you start opening conversation boxes and typing your heart out.

IM is sort of a “thing of the past,” thanks to text messaging, though everyone (basically) knows how to use IM in some form or another.

Facebook offers a chat feature. At work there is a chat feature on our computer-based-online-phone system. And e-mail hosts offer various forms of AOL’s ground-breaking IM.

One such e-mail host was the medium for a chat I had last week with one of my cousin’s kids. Checking e-mails, and reading hockey news headlines, I was genuinely surprised when I heard the ding of an online conversation opening up; inviting me to type and talk. Gladly, I responded. Smiling at the growing-too-fast-I-can’t-believe-I-held-you-as-a-baby, cousin on the other end.

And again it hit me, what goes around comes around. Because I am now typing on a laptop as my cousin clicks on their family’s desktop. We’re conversing about life. With all of its highs and lows, lefts and rights. And in this AIM out-dated world that we live in, talking with family – no matter the technology available – will never be a thing of the past.

Have an AOL Instant Message French Fry Friday kind of day!

One thought on “French Fry Friday: AOL Instant Message

Leave a Reply

