Wednesday Wars: “home team” vs. another team


birthdaydirect.com

As I’ve debated in past posts and aloud with friends and family, I am in the throes of choosing between rooting for the home team or another team. And a Wedneday Wars post is the best place to debate this entire debacle.

 
Side one: “home team.”
 
Unfortuantely it has caused me great stress to cheer for the big “M,” as of late. I bang my head against the wall trying to figure out what is wrong with them – wondering how things have gotten this bad. I sometimes defend them, but my defenses are wearing down. And I’m starting to consider other options.
 
I’ve done it before – cheered for a team other than the home team. I kind of had to.
 
But now, the decision is all mine.
 
I wish it were easy. I wish I could stay loyal through good years and bad. But the bad years have been overshadowing the good ones and I don’t see too much hope for the future.
 
Of course, this is the land that I love. Always has been. Always will be.
 
Side two: another team.
 
There are other teams. Teams I root against. Teams I despise.
 
Yet, they win. A lot.
 
And they recruit the best.
And retain the best.
 
But they are not the home team.
 
They are someone else’s home team. Always have been. Always will be.
 
Maybe I can cheer, too.
 
People say, home is where your heart is. Right now, my heart’s not here.
It wants to be. It wishes it didn’t have to wander.
 
But I think it’s time. Time to find a new team. Another team. A team I’ve cheered against.
 
Deciding that team will take time. The home team will always hold the #1 spot. Another team – I can learn to cheer for them. I’ve done it before. I can do it again.
 
Regardless of the team I choose, I will always cheer for the sport itself. For the players from this hockey state, who represent Minnesota hockey. Whether they’re on the home team or another team.
 
One thought on “Wednesday Wars: “home team” vs. another team

Leave a Reply

