The big move north


As shocking as this may seem to some, I have been somewhat oblivious to the happenings in the hockey world as of late.

Haven’t really been keeping tabs on the Stanley Cup games…I’m really indifferent this year as to who wins, so I think that’s a contributing factor to my lack of enthusism. Although I am not a Boston fan, but I like Tim Thomas. Yet, I’m not a Vancouver fan, either.

Despite my blah attitude toward the Finals, I still have a pulse and I still know some things…

Like how I know that the Atlanta Thrashers will be moving on up. North that is. To Winnipeg. Former home of the Jets. And I think that’s a good thing. To move hockey to where it belongs.

I’ve only stayed in Atlanta once. And I can tell ya, it’s hot down there. Not what I’d consider an ideal hockey city. But that’s just my Minnesota opinion.

So, I think it’s a good thing for Canada. For Canadian hockey.

But pro hockey isn’t the exception to major changes in the hockey world…and of course, I have kept tabs on some college hockey news…

Like how I know that Sandelin signed on again @ Duluth and passed on the Penn State position. Sort of a no-brainer. Who wouldn’t want to stay in Duluth after the year he had and the arena they built?

Like how I know that there have been multiple coaching changes made and numerous conference questions posed. Some good. Some odd. Some bad. Some debatable.

Like how I know that UND’s Gregoire is turning pro. Doesn’t surprise me.

Like how I know that the Gophers need to re-build. Again.

So, it may be nearing the end of the pro season. It may be the college and high school off season. But that doesn’t mean there aren’t things happening – worthy of some attention.

But it is summertime, and that means focusing my attention on enjoying summer. In Minnesota. Up North.

Leave a Reply

