French Fry Friday: Gravel in my Travel


pbase.com

“Put a little gravel in my travel…” – Rodney Atkins

The first time I heard this song, I was stuck in traffic on a very congested Minnesota interstate.

It was like salt on an open wound.

More than anything, I wanted to get off the main drag. To get away from the hustle and bustle and just drive.

At 16, when I started driving, I realized how important it was to know the ways in which my city was constructed. The direction roads ran. The names of highways. The exits and cloverleafs. The best routes. The fastest routes. The most direct routes.

And I quickly learned how life-saving back roads can be.

How great it is to break away from rush-hour traffic and glide along country roads and county roads. To make it to my destination in record time. To beat the crowd. To know shortcuts that save gas and time.

Backroads have saved me many stop-and-go headaches over the years.

I have avoided major accidents and road construction.

And every time I hop off the main drag, I wonder why I don’t do it more often. Why I don’t veer off course and get lost in the silence and scenery of dirt roads. And then I remember that life moves fast. I need to keep up.

But why should that matter?

I think I’ll take a back road today.

Leave a Reply

