French Fry Friday: Back to cool


I go through spurts of shopping sprees. I don’t necessarily live to shop. And I don’t necessarily shop till I drop.

But fall fashion.

That’s a different story.

There’s something about fall itself that just fills me with energy.

Though sad to see summer leave, the long days and sunshine, I thrive on the chill of autumn days.

And nothing says back-to-school-welcome-to-fall like a good pair of jeans and a comfy hoodie.

When I was a little girl, I couldn’t wait for my American Girl Magazine. And in the fall, it was full of adorable outfits for Felicity, Samantha, and Molly. Yet, my favorite part of the catalog were the outfits for girls just like me. Forget the doll (partly because I didn’t own an American Girl doll), all I wanted were the cute sweaters, scarves, and other fashionable outfits of the 1990’s. In typical girl fashion, I would highlight and circle “must-have” outfits.

I never actually ordered any outfits from the American Girl catalog.

But that didn’t matter to me. I just liked to look. To see what was “new” for fall.

Not much has changed. Well, I don’t look through American Girl catalogs anymore, but I still love looking at fall hued cardigans and cords.

Even though I no longer go back to school in the fall, I can’t help but look at the new fall fashions. Over the years fashions have changed – for the good and the bad. In my years of going back-to-school, I noticed that the fashions don’t really change. There are always staples. Always sweaters – cardigans, wraps, v-necks, and crews. Always pants – khakis, corduroys, and jeans. Always jackets – rain jackets, wool jackets, and jean jackets.

Always the same. Always different.

And I think that’s why I like fall fashion. It’s predictable and new every time the leaves change and the days shorten. While every fall brings a life-change, the fashions remain unchanging and comforting, bringing more than just warmth from Winnipeg’s wind blowing down on us signaling that an even colder season is soon approaching.

And that’s why I enjoy a new cardigan and pair of jeans every fall, because it’s back to cool.

___________________________________________________________

I ask. You answer.

  1. Favorite place to go back-to-school shopping.
Leave a Reply

