Winning in the west.


Out West, I have family. Quite a few family members. Mainly from my dad’s side of the family.

They live in beautiful states with tall trees, mountains, lakes, rivers, and oceans. These relatives have lived there for many, many years. Originally they are from the Midwest – born and raised. I have fond memories with them here – in the Midwest – at grandma’s house.

When two of these cousins grew up, they chose to move West to raise their kids. Kids who are not so young anymore. Kids who were born when I was just a kid. Kids who are on the brink of adulthood. Kids who just won the West.

My two cousins, er, their daughters, just swam in a big meet. A State meet. And they did a phenomenal job. They relayed and raced, butterflied and breast-stroked. And the only reason I know this is because of social media. Because of our connections via the world wide web; connections that melt away the miles between us.

I haven’t seen these girls in years. I haven’t watched them swim (well, that’s not completely true. I’ve seen videos of them swimming posted on facebook).

Even though I haven’t watched them swim, it doesn’t mean that I’m not proud. Proud of their accomplishments. Proud to call them my little cousins.

Though we are not close geographically, or in age, that doesn’t matter. Because they are still family. My family. And family, my family, supports one another. We don’t care about distance and days between visits. We just care about each other.

I hope to venture out west sometime soon to see these great girls, their moms (my cousins), brothers, and my aunts and uncles.

But in the meantime, I’ll just brag about them from the Midwest by telling you how my little cousins keep on winning in the west.

 

 

Leave a Reply

