Say what?


There’s something I’ve been meaning to say. Not on here. Just in my own life.

Something I need to get out of me before I burst.

It’s not a life or death situation.

But it’s one of those things where there are no ‘take backs.’

Once I say this thing that I need to say, I can’t back peddle.

Advice has been sought, measured, and accepted.

The cat still has my tongue though, for there have been opportunities to speak the necessary words aloud and every time I come close…I let the moment pass.

Because once I say this thing that I need to say, I can’t undo it.

It will be out there. Floating around. Sinking into someone’s mind where they will form thoughts and opinions on my words.

And that flat out freaks me out. That is why I keep hesitating. The vulnerability of the situation, the meaning of my words, and the fear of their rejection holds me back from saying what I need to say.

In my mind’s eye, I’ll say the words. Rather simple words. And they will be met with, “Say what?”

And that’s when I’ll want to take them back, hide under the covers and never come out again.

So, as I head into yet one more week of not saying these words that I need to say, I think I’ll hum a little John Mayer.

________________________________________________________

Say What You Need to Say – John Mayer

Have no fear for givin’ in.
Have no fear for giving over.
You better know that in the end
It’s better to say too much, than never to say what you need to say again.

Even if your hands are shaking,
And your faith is broken.
Even as the eyes are closin’,
Do it with a heart wide open.

Say what you need to say (x7 – you get the point)

______________________________________________________________

I ask. You answer.

Have you ever said what you needed to say to someone? Something big. Life-changing.

What was their response?

Did you feel better or worse for speaking your words, sharing the truth?

What advice do you have for me when it comes to just biting the bullet and saying what I need to say?

 

Leave a Reply

