I’ll Be Home for Christmas


Various versions of “I’ll be home for Christmas” rotate through on my iPhone Christmas playlist.

Of course, I will be home for Christmas. Sometimes though, I wonder, what would it be like to be home for Christmas in one of these houses…

1. Chicago, IL

While You Were Sleeping

While You Were Sleeping

Even if it was with her fake fiance’s family, this is a great Christmas house to go home to. The random dinner conversations and furniture from dead people would definitely add some humor to the holidays. I’d enjoy that.

2. Chicago, IL

Home Alone

Home Alone

I’d stay home alone here at Christmas, decorate the tree, and fight off bad guys. I’d possibly go to the grocery store, too. Why would you ever leave for Paris when you have this house?

3. Somewhere in New York or maybe Connecticut or New Jersey (actual house in Lake Forest, IL – thanks to Hooked on Houses for that tid bit)

Miracle on 34th Street (90's remake)

Miracle on 34th Street (90’s remake)

I believe I’ve seen this version once or twice, I’m partial to the original. But I would take this house. Especially if it was move-in ready like in the movie and decorated from floor to ceiling.

4. New York

stepmom house

Stepmom

This is a real life house. Based on the Google Image searches I’ve conducted, I prefer the movie version to the actual house. I’d cozy up there and drink hot cider and run around singing “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough.”

5. Pennsylvania

Marley and Me

Marley and Me

Truly not a dog fan. Sorry, dog lovers. But I do love this charming house. I can imagine the creaky wood floors and entering the various areas of the house – walking from one end to the other.

6. New York, New York

Eloise

Eloise at Christmastime

A rather silly movie, based on an adorable children’s book, Eloise’s Plaza penthouse is quite the scene for Christmas festivities. Though she prefers the pink tree and what not, I am fond of this traditionally massive bowed out beauty of a fir.

7. Concord, MA

Little Women

Little Women

Oh, what I would do to visit this place. At Christmas, imagine the magic. Beth’s piano. Hannah making breads. Singing. The decor. Lovely.

8. Seattle, WA

Sleepless in Seattle

Sleepless in Seattle

A houseboat is such a foreign concept to me, but I see why Tom Hanks couldn’t sleep in this house — he wanted to stay up staring at the tree!

9. New York, New York

Samantha: An American Girl Holiday

Samantha: An American Girl Holiday

Can you tell I was a nanny? Forced to watch this once, I fell in love with the Victorian grandeur of the Christmas scenes. A roaring fire and presents for all the girls in their white nightgowns.

10. Stars Hallow, CT

Gilmore Girls

Gilmore Girls

The quirk and charm of Lorelai’s house juxtaposed by the stiff and proper decorum of Emily Gilmore makes me want to jump into one of Mary Poppins’ chalk drawings and visit Stars Hallow and Hartford. I’d attend Emily’s Christmas parties for the food, but hang with Lorelai and Rory for the food (and fun).

While I will not be celebrating Christmas in any of these houses, I am thankful for the warmth and love I will find inside my Home for Christmas house.

Leave a Reply

