Millennial moments


Pretty sure I reached adulthood. 2014 is the year it finally caught me. Or I caught it.

The place where you feel like you might have some things figured out, but still don’t feel like you’re there yet. The point where you start looking to peers for advice, affirmation, and action. Thanks to some magazines articles and LinkedIn posts, I’ve been studying my generation. What others think of us, what we think of ourselves, and what we think of others. The clashes with other generations, personally and professionally.

Some recent meetings with friends, strangers, and associates sheds so much light on all of this. Who we are. Who I am. Why these thoughts I think are ingrained in my mind. Why I set about my daily business and form my goals around these thoughts. Why I think I’m crazy and that others are crazier.

I used to connect really well with people who were older than me. I loved being in on the adult conversations, entertaining my parents’ friends with jokes and stories, learning from older cousins. I thought they had it all figured out. The answers to life’s questions. The secret formulas to health and happiness. But the more I live in this world, the more I see that the Builders, Boomers, and Gen Xers are not me. They don’t think like me or give advice like me.

Because I’m a Millennial. And everything’s changing.

So, this past year, I’ve changed. A slow process at first, one where I turned to Boomers and Gen Xers. Until I noticed that after hearing their sage advice, it wasn’t for me. Some of it made sense. Some of it was worth tucking away. Some of it was actionable.

But my more recent meetings and coffee chats with Millennials is where I fit in. Where I am truly challenged, encouraged, and reminded that I’m not alone. My thoughts are not strange or off-base. I don’t have to follow traditional paths and do what has always been done.

The Builders, Boomers, and Gen Xers are irreplaceable. Individuals and groups who form generations of strength, courage, and prosperity. They laid the foundation, and now I, along with my fellow Millennial counterparts, are ready to take it to the next level.

Because that’s what Millennials do.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

