Operation no more contacts/glasses


Sometimes it takes a perfect stranger to open your eyes to new things.

That’s exactly what happened to me. Back in March (?), I went to a networking event/panel discussion thingy and a college classmate was there with her friend. This friend of a friend was my age and after discussing our jobs and career plans, she started to tell my former classmate about her recent lasik surgery.

Her experience had been amazing and she explained everything in extensive detail. I listened and took note of the doctor she saw, the process, etc. I left the networking event more excited about the lasik discussion than the actual career discussions.

A few days later, I googled the clinic, wrote down the number, and put it on my “to do” list.

I set up my free consultation for the middle of May. I had been wearing my glasses since the end of December when my contacts became unbearable. Wearing glasses full time (for the first time since 7th grade) was getting old, so I hoped and prayed I’d be a good candidate for lasik. Turns out, I am.

I am now scheduled for lasik surgery on September 4.

I. Can. Hardly. Wait.

Try as I might, I can’t even fathom how great it will be to wake up in the morning and be able to see my alarm clock clearly. Everything will change. I’ll be able to see when I’m shaving my legs. When I’m in the lake. When I fly, I won’t have to worry about my contacts drying up on the flight from the little fans. I can go running and see street signs without squinting or having dust fly into my contacts. I’ll be able to see, really, truly see things.

And I’ll never again be frustrated by my contacts or glasses like Patricia…

I’ve honestly contemplated how I’m going to say goodbye to my two pair of glasses and contacts. Maybe I’ll pull a Palo…

Somehow, someway, I’ll say adieu to my contacts and glasses. It seems so silly to be sentimental about the whole ordeal. But they have been part of my life for a long time, part of my routine, part of my history, but not my future.

 

Leave a Reply

