Never leaving 


  
In an attempt to stop singing songs from Mary Poppins (nothing against The Chanhassen’s production), I decided to watch another musical – Into The Woods. Anything, not including the Twilight Saga, with Anna Kendrick is a plus. Not to mention Meryl Streep and Emily Blunt. 

I vaguely remember seeing the play 11 years ago. It was my freshman year of college and I attended the musical just for credits to my Intro to Music class. I didn’t remember much. Except that it’s a darker tale that intertwines stories and fables into a humorous and deep meaning plot. 

And I was right. About what little I remembered. But this time, the story meant something. The lyrics, while witty and weird, were also filled with wisdom. 

When Cinderella consoles Little Red Riding Hood, I couldn’t help but be drawn to the line, “Sometimes people leave you. Halfway through the wood.” 

It’s true. It happens. A year after I attended Into The Woods for class credit, my grandpa died. Sudden and sad, losing him was hard. Just like two August’s later when my grandma died. Again, the unexpected left me in the middle of life changes and big decisions, wondering what I should do and how I could do it without the support of a grandma I dearly missed. 

But Cinderella reminds Little Red that you’re never alone. Truly. Never. And she’s right. I wasn’t alone in those confusing times. No one is alone. Because He’ll never leave us. Halfway through the wood. 

Deuteronomy 31:8 

Leave a Reply

