Hello, from me. 


  
As the world is well aware, Adele released her newest sing-along, Hello. It played 5,725 times on Friday. I unashamedly blasted the tune in my car and have since scanned my favorite local stations every time I put my car in drive. I am fairly confident in my ability to sing the lyrics correctly, without AZ Lyrics or Metro Lyrics. And I’m thisclose to hitting all the notes in perfect pitch. 
Why do I break my radio silence for news that already broke? Because a friend texted to inquire about the never ending search for millennial meaning in the mediocre workforce and inquired about my skills and confidence in my self-proclaimed and LinkedIn endorsed expertise in a myriad of fields. So, I listed legit skills. And then said, “I’m also really good at binge watching TV shows. And singing along to Adele’s new song.” 

It was a satirical comment. But behind every uber sarcastic comment is a grain of truth. Along with my tangible skills, the ones I paid for in college and learned in post-economy crash jobs (proud college grad of 2008), are the parts of me that make me who I am and who I am not. 

Who I am:

1. Myself. Genuine and unapologetic for my creativity and out-of-the-box thinking. I’ve been called quirky. Super. I’ll take it. 

2. Curious. According to Gretchen Rubin’s labeling, I’m a Questioner. It means that I’m relentlessly curious and always gathering facts to learn the positives and negatives on everything. And when I say everything, I mean, every thing. Ever. Period. The end. 

 

  

3. A day dream believer. I’m always pushing the envelope and wondering how I can reach my next dream. Some would say that’s perfectionism. And they’d be right. But so wrong to shut that down as only negative. Instead of being an obstacle, I do my darnedest to use my perfectionist tendencies to strive for more. For the sake of my own growth and the growth of every person I work with or for. That’s who I am. But who am I not?

Who I am not:

1. Just another millennial. I am an individual with an education and experiences that are all mine. No one else possesses what I have. 

2. A person to be written off as “too young” or “too inexperienced.” I’m old, people. While my anecdotes of being mistaken for a teenager, as recently as last week, are laugh worthy, it’s no laughing matter when someone discredits me based on a lack of wrinkles around my eyes. And though I don’t have every experience known to man in all fields of business, it doesn’t mean what I’ve done in another role can’t or doesn’t apply. It also doesn’t mean I can’t learn and produce results without 10 years of experience in some role that didn’t exist until last year. Remember, I’m a curious questioner who strives for perfection. 

3. Stupid. I get what’s what in the world. I’ve been around the block a time or two. Because I’ve worked here and there and over there and around there, I’ve seen it all. The good, the bad, and the U-G-L-Y without an alibi. And I know what’s healthy and unhealthy in an environment and managerial relationship. 

So, Hello from the other side. The side of me that you may not know. 

Sometimes it just takes a song to remind me to share this about myself (even as the questioner in me wonders if this is going to land me on “do not hire” lists…).

Leave a Reply

